WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #512 COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE AND McHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Meeting of Wednesday, May 10, 2017

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512 was called to order by Chair Dowell on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 4:59 p.m. in Room W216 of the Wojcik Conference Center, 1200 W. Algonquin Road, Palatine, Illinois.

ROLL CALL

Present: Members Dowell, Hill, Johnson, Kelley (entered at 5:01 p.m.), Mundt, Robb, Stack, and Student Member Safakas Absent: none

Also present: Kenneth Ender, President; Ronald Ally, EVP Finance and Administrative Services; Mike Barzacchini, Director Marketing Services; Bret Bonnstetter, Controller; Laura Brown, Chief Advancement Officer; Maria Coons, Vice President Workforce, Planning and Institutional Effectiveness and Chief of Staff; Judy Marwick, Provost; Maria Moten, Assistant Provost; Mark Mrozinski. Executive Dean Continuing Education and Assistant Vice President Workforce and Strategic Alliances: Regan Myers, Director Infrastructure Services (for Patrick Bauer, Chief Information Officer): Sheryl Otto, Assistant Provost; Steve Petersen, Campus Architect (for Darryl Knight, Executive Director Facilities Management); Darlene Schlenbecker, Executive Director Planning, Research and Institutional Effectiveness; Michelé Smith, Associate Provost and Special Assistant to the President for Diversity and Inclusion; Roger Spayer, Chief Human Resources Officer; Evelyn Seiler, Administrative Coordinator; Meg Coney, Administrative Coordinator; Brian Page, Director Community Engagement, Communications & Legislative Affairs; Carolynn Muci, Internal Communications Manager; Kim Pohl, Media Relations & Legislative Affairs Manager; Melissa Cayer, citizen; Chris Placek, Northwest Herald; Partner Christine Torres, Manager Greg Manning and Senior Staff Hollis Hanson-Pollock of Crowe Horwath

FORMAL ACTIONS

Member Hill motioned, Member Johnson seconded, to enter closed session for the purpose of discussing the college audit at 5:02 p.m.

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Dowell, Hill, Johnson, Kelley, Mundt, Stack, and

Student Member Safakas.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

Member Stack motioned, Member Mundt seconded to adjourn the closed session and re-enter the regular meeting at 5:20 p.m. In a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Melissa Cayer informed the Board the website has not been updated yet, and would like to know if any Board members use campaign funds and whether or not they take a paycheck.

DISCUSSION OF FOLLOW UP ITEMS

Schlenbecker reported the end status of the Institutional Effectiveness Measures (IEMs) 2012-2016. These measures were divided into Student Success and Institutional Success categories. The results were used to inform the new IEMs targets which will be presented next month. In response to Member Stack, Dr. Marwick explained that the impact of the One Million Degree programs has been positive. Ender affirmed the positive impact of case management on student success in at-risk populations like this. The final IEM report will be sent to the Board at the end to the week.

Bonnstetter reviewed the FY17 budget to date and the budget parameters for FY18.

Dr. Coons reviewed the Board Packet.

FORMAL ACTIONS

Member Kelley motioned, Member Johnson seconded, to enter closed session for the purpose of discussing collective bargaining and personnel at 6:44 p.m.

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Dowell, Hill, Johnson, Kelley, Mundt, Stack, and Student Member Safakas.

Navs: None.

Motion carried.

Member Johnson motioned, Member Kelley seconded to adjourn the closed session and re-enter the regular meeting at 8:15 p.m.

In a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Member Kelley motioned, Member Stack seconded, adjournment at 8:17 p.m. In a voice vote, motion carried.

Chair	Secretary