WILLIAM RAINEY HARPER COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #512 COUNTIES OF COOK, KANE, LAKE AND McHENRY, STATE OF ILLINOIS

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Meeting of Wednesday, February 8, 2017

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 512 was called to order by Chair Dowell on Wednesday, February 8, 2017 at 5:01 p.m. in Room W216 of the Wojcik Conference Center, 1200 W. Algonquin Road, Palatine, Illinois.

ROLL CALL

Present: Members Dowell, Gallo, Hill, Kelley, Mundt, Stack, and

Student Member DeBold Absent: Member Robb

Also present: Kenneth Ender, President; Ronald Ally, EVP Finance and Administrative Services; Mike Barzacchini, Director Marketing Services; Patrick Bauer, Chief Information Officer; Bret Bonnstetter, Controller; Laura Brown, Chief Advancement Officer; Maria Coons, Chief of Staff and Vice President for Workforce, Planning and Institutional Effectiveness; Judy Marwick, Provost; Maria Moten, Assistant Provost: Mark Mrozinski, Executive Dean Continuing Education and Assistant Vice President Workforce and Strategic Alliances; Sheryl Otto, Assistant Provost; Steve Petersen, Campus Architect: Darlene Schlenbecker, Executive Director Planning, Research and Institutional Effectiveness; Michelé Smith, Associate Provost and Special Assistant to the President for Diversity and Inclusion; Roger Spayer, Chief Human Resources Officer; Evelyn Seiler, Administrative Coordinator; Meg Coney, Administrative Coordinator; Sue Egan, Administrative Assistant; Bob Parzy, Director Admissions Outreach; Kris Piepenburg, Associate Professor; Kelly Coronado, Instructor; Kim Fournier, Professor; Carolynn Muci, Internal Communications Manager; Kim Pohl, Media Relations & Legislative Affairs Manager; Chris Placek, Daily Herald; Herb Johnson, citizen; L. Ramu Ramachandran and Sean O'Donnell, Perkins Eastman: Lillian Xie, Kevin Healy, and Niki Safakas, Students.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were none.

DISCUSSION OF FOLLOW UP ITEMS

Dr. Ender acknowledged the attendees from the communities Harper serves at this Committee Meeting of the Whole.

Petersen asked O'Donnell and Ramachandran of Perkins Eastman to present the updated 2016 Campus Master Plan. The plan reviewed the work done since the 2010 master plan and projected the ongoing work through 2018 in three phases, identifying most needed projects and potential projects. Cost estimates for this work were also included.

Mrozinski briefed the Board on the work of the University Center Task Force over the past 2 years and asked Parzy to share the Center's current status. Now occupying space in Building D, the University Center is partnering with four-year institutions for 3+1 and 2+2 agreements for Harper students to complete their bachelor's degrees in specific majors on Harper's campus. Current efforts are to solidify the primary partners into non-compete agreements, market the program to current students and the district, and increase courses taught on campus.

Dr. Ally finalized the FY18 tuition and fee proposal and answered the Board's questions. The suggestion to separate fees from tuition was not feasible under current practices.

Schlenbecker reviewed the Operational Plan. Of the 62 goals, 42 are on target, 8 need attention (7 of these are deadline related), 6 are complete and 6 will not be met.

Schlenbecker briefed the Board on the IEM Input Survey, giving them a handout of all the Institutional Effectiveness Measures for reference. The survey link will be emailed to them tomorrow.

Bonnstetter reviewed the FY17 budget to date. There is still a risk that Harper will be responsible for MAP grants this year.

Dr. Coons reviewed the Board meeting calendar for FY18 which will be voted on at the April meeting.

Dr. Coons reviewed the Board Packet.

FORMAL ACTIONS

Member Stack motioned, Member Hill seconded, to enter closed session for the purpose of discussing collective bargaining at 7:12 p.m.

Upon roll call, the vote was as follows:

Ayes: Members Dowell, Gallo, Hill, Kelley, Mundt, Stack, and Student Member DeBold.

Nays: None. Motion carried.

Student Member DeBold motioned, Member Gallo seconded to adjourn the closed session and re-enter the regular meeting at 8:38 p.m. In a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Member Gallo motioned, Member Stack seconded, adjournment at 8:39 p.m. In a voice vote, motion carried.

 Chair	Secretary	